Places of Interest
Each year thousands of tourists visit the Kreis Offenbach for its beautiful historic sights. In all 13 municipalities relicts from the past can be admired. Take, for example, the grand tumuli in the forest near Langen or Dietzenbach and numerous archaeological excavations which are displayed in the museums of local history. Well-preserved medieval town centres with picturesque half-timbered houses as well as castles, monasteries and churches await every visitor.
In the west of the Kreis Offenbach a visit to Dreieich is full of discovery. The town with five very different districts offers a variety of cultural monuments. The most recently built of all districts, Buchschlag, with its garden city like housing estates from the early 20th century is exceptional. The "Villenkolonie Buchschlag" (colony of mansion houses) is characterised in part by outstanding cultural monuments. The mansion like country homes are situated on large estates and have their own architectural style. The district Dreieichenhain is – like Seligenstadt – member of the "Fachwerkstrasse" (Half-timber road). The old town together with the medieval castle area are listed monuments. The old town is marked by its historic Franconian half-timber houses within the former city walls. The visitor experiences whether he enters the beautiful half-timber ensemble via the upper or lower gate a memorable voyage into the past. Especially the "Fahrgasse" - the main road between the upper and the lower gate - is characterised by gable fronted half-timber houses from the 17th and 18th century.
The idyllic castle Wolfsgarten (1721-1724) with its large landscape garden is located near the Kreisstrasse between Langen and Egelsbach. Today the castle is used for residential purposes and welfare services and is as well as the smaller buildings belonging to it, such as the "Prinzessinnenhaus" (House of the Princess) for instance (1902, a treasure of Art Nouveau built by the architect J.M. Olbrich), listed. Each year, when the Rhododendron is in bloom the castle opens its doors to the public.
The residential town Heusenstamm was mentioned for the first time in 1211. Today the town located in the centre of the district is a destination worth visiting. Passing through the Baroque-red town gate which today is the home of the museum of local history, you arrive directly in Heusenstamm’s idyllic old town at the Baroque square in front of the church St. Cäcilia. St. Cäcilia was built between 1739 and 1744 by Balthasar Neumann. Its architectural predominance is highlighted by the surrounding buildings. Leaving the square the Schlossstrasse with its gable fronted houses - former farmhouses (Hofreiten) - leads to the castle. Carefully maintained are the partly half-timber fronts and the green in the courtyards. The castle Schönborn (1663-1668), an impressive building from the Renaissance with a grand Baroque garden, today accommodates part of the city council. Walking through the castle’s main entrance the visitor arrives at the ruin of the former water castle (from 1211). Those who take a closer look at it will find out about its intriguing history and the different stages of its construction.
The old town of Seligenstadt within its former fortification is listed and takes the visitor on a fascinating journey to experience its over 1100 year old history. Highlights of the Einhard-City Seligenstadt are the monastery, founded in 1828, the Einhard-Basilica, sanctified in 840 and thus oldest church in the Kreis Offenbach as well as the Kaiserpfalz from the era of the Staufen. Many carefully restored architectural treasures characterise the Old-Franconian half-timber town by the river Main. The historic market square impresses with its precious and fully preserved houses to which in comparison the "new" town hall from 1823 appears almost modern. Moving from the market square to the Aschaffenburger Strasse, the so-called "Einhardhaus" built in 1596 catches the visitor’s attention with its broad gable façade, the rich half-timber ornaments and the Rhenish oriel which is decorated with wonderful wood carvings. Despite the surrounding monastery walls the visitor looking left onto the Freihof-square has a wonderful view over the entire monastery of the former Benedictine abbey and the towers of the Einhard-Basilica. Fascinating are also the Baroque garden of the monastery, a demonstration of the restored mill and the historically important Einhard-Basilica, which was built in 1830 Carolingian era by Einhard, the chancellor of Charlemagne.